Graduation, then begin again…

30 May

By Rosanna Ward

The year 2010 was a bizarre year for me. My oldest daughter, Hannah, graduated homeschool high school in May, and Leif, our youngest son, was born in October.

This year feels pretty weird too. My second daughter, Virginia, graduated from homeschooling on May 5th. Meanwhile her next younger sibling, Joel (age 7), is about to finish first grade. So just when I finish teaching my girls, I start full swing into teaching the boys.

I miss teaching the girls and I know that teaching boys will be totally different. And while I am determined to do a better job this time around as I am now an experienced homeschool teacher, I believe we did a pretty good job with the girls. They have both done well enough on their ACTs to get into most colleges, although neither one is all that interested in the college route right now. More importantly to me is that they are both God girls: They both have beautiful God-directed hearts. They aren’t perfect by any means, but we never went through the “rebellious teen years” with them.

So now, as we start again with boys, my prayer is that Jason and I are able to do even better at educating the boys and motivating them to greatness, but I also pray that the boys will have the great characters and hearts that their sisters have.

Rosanna Ward is a devoted wife of 19 years and mother of four children, two of which are currently homeschooled. Her oldest daughter is a homeschool graduate, and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and has been homeschooling for six years. Rosanna loves to study History and Genealogy, and currently resides in Sand Springs, Oklahoma.

Leave a Reply

